Tuesday, July 21, 2009

Wilco, America's Melodic Rock Kings, Hit the Road

Fugazi's Brendan Canty directed this great-sounding documentary following Wilco on the road in 2008. (My six degrees on this is that my old roommate Nikos used to make rock videos with Canty, not to mention I grew up about 20 miles from where Wilco frontman Jeff Tweedy grew up.)

As I've said here before, there is no band currently that is making such consistently melodic and rocking records, putting on better shows, or being more adventuresome musically. The intimate camera work reveals the moods of each band member both while playing full songs at five different venues and while interviewing them individually.

The set list was recorded at Washington D.C.'s 9:30 Club, Nashville's Ryman Auditorium, Mobile's Mobile Civic Center, New Orleans' Tipitina's, and Tulsa's Cain's Ballroom.
  1. "Ashes of American Flags"
  2. "Side with the Seeds"
  3. "Handshake Drugs"
  4. "The Late Greats"
  5. "Kingpin"
  6. "Wishful Thinking"
  7. "Impossible Germany"
  8. "Via Chicago"
  9. "A Shot in the Arm"
  10. "Monday"
  11. "You Are My Face"
  12. "Heavy Metal Drummer"
  13. "War on War"
**** out of ***** stars

No comments:

Post a Comment